Discovering Michael Fatali, Photographer Extraordinaire

Last Saturday we went to Park City, Utah to enjoy the city in the off-season. We were delighted to find a studio of Michael Fatali photography. I cannot tell you how in awe I was at the beautiful images he managed to capture without artificial lighting and no computer imaging. Everything we saw was as if we were standing next to him at the moment he captured the image. I share a few here, but you must stop by his website at www.fatali.com and enjoy the rest!  Of course, while standing in his gallery, with the lighting and the wonderful tour given, it was an experience in itself and I would recommend that if you have a chance to go to Park City, Utah in the western side of the United States, you would enjoy a tour through this small, but illustrious gallery!

Upon entering the gallery, I was greeted with a very large size print of “Happily Ever After” :

This magical image made by nature was captivating and I was like a kid on Christmas morning, my eyes darting back and forth at all the intriguing images! I couldn’t take them in fast enough!

Angel Arch by Michael Fatali:

 

Spirit Stones (below) was a long time in the making. Notice there are not footprints anyplace. These stones inched their way, making that path over time.

 

One of his most famous photos below, Heavens Gate

 

And this one below, Living Dunes, jumped right off the wall, grabbed my heart and soul and pulled me into it. This reaction is not explainable so I won’t even try! However, I was spellbound by the contrast and the fact that there was not one single footprint. Our tour guide explained that Michael Fatali has a great amount of patience and will stay in one place for a couple of days until just the right images appear after a sandstorm. Sorry, but I have to say, move on over Ansel and make some room for Michael Fatali!

Thank you, Michael Fatali, for the amazing images! I hope I get to meet you someday.

Leave a Reply

